This article will detail how to Hard Reset the SmartStor NS4300N to factory defaults. This process DOES NOT harm DATA in the Public, Music, Video, Pictures, Download or other user created directories. BACKUP ALL DATA in the "admin" directory as these directories are tied to usernames and username are cleared with the "reset". 

Please use this procedure with SR5 Firmware v01.05.0000.03 or v01.05.0000.07 (or higher) ONLY!!!!  DO NOT USE with previous builds unless you plan to start over.

You may need to reset the NAS for any number of reasons. If you are experiencing any of the following, a reset should resolve your problem:

1. File Permissions are not functioning currently. User has read/write access to folder but cannot read/write.
2. Directories appear empty using any service (SMB/CIFS, AFP, NFS, FTP)
3. Plugins are not functioning correctly.
   
   Examples: 

   Plugins automatically disables after hours or days.
   Plugin cannot be enabled.
   Using DLNA Plugin, no device (360, PS3, PCH) detected SmartStor as Media Server.
   No content is available to iTunes using iTunes Plugin yet music files exist in music folder.



RESET PROCEDURE
  

1. Verify that the SmartStor NS4300N is on SR5 Firmware. Open PASM (Promise Array Storage Management) using your Web Browser, login and proceed to System > System Information. If the version is 01.05.0000.03, you are on SR5. If the version is 01.04.xxxx.xx or lower, you need to upgrade to SR5 first BEFORE proceeding. Also make sure your "Array/Volume" is "Functional" and that you can read and write to Array/Volume. Perform a simply test by read and write a file to one of your directories.

2. On the rear of the SmartStor NS4300N you will find a small pin sized hole directly below the Ethernet connector. Push and hold the reset button using a paper clip or push pin until the SmartStor NS4300N "Powers Off". This generally takes about 25 to 30 seconds.

3. Power-On SmartStor NS4300N and log into PASM (remember, password has been reset to default which is "admin"). You will need to re-enable services such as Windows, Macintosh, Unix/Linux, FTP and Printer Service. You will also need to enable permissions under "File and Print > File Sharing" and File and Print > Sharing Setup" as these have been reset due to the configuration files being cleared. Once you reapply the permissions your NAS will become accessible again from clients.